• The Interstate Medical Licensure Compact

    What is the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact

    If you're looking for a new and exciting way to grow your physician career, the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact (IMLC) could be your ticket to success.

    This quickly expanding physician compact expedites the licensure process for qualified physicians who wish to practice in multiple states. The IMLC makes it faster and easier to work in other compact states—whether you are moving/expanding your practice, working in telemedicine, or working locum tenens assignments.

    Watch a short video on the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact here.

    Ready To Join The Physician Compact?

    Participation in the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact is voluntary, and interested physicians must meet several eligibility criteria. Applications can be submitted through a physician’s State of Principal Licensure (SPL).

    Which states are part of the physician compact?

    As of March 15, 2019, the IMLC includes 25 states, the District of Columbia, and one territory, with other states expected to join in the near future:

    • ▪  Twenty states are currently issuing Letters of Qualification (LOQ) as a physician’s State of Principal Licensure (SPL): Alabama, Arizona, Colorado, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Washington, Wisconsin, West Virginia and Wyoming.

    • ▪  One additional IMLC member state offers expediting licensing for LOQ holders but is not currently processing applications as a SPL: Minnesota.

      ▪ Four additional states, plus the District of Columbia and one territory, have agreed to the IMLC terms, but implementation of the compact is currently in process or has been delayed: Maryland, Michigan, Pennsylvania, Vermont, Washington, D.C., and the U.S. territory of Guam. 

    Several states are poised to join the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact in the near future, including the following six that have already introduced IMLC legislation: Georgia, Kentucky, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma and South Carolina.

    Where you can find jobs in the physician compact states?

    Staff Care offers locum tenens jobs for physicians across the country, including these states that have implemented the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact. Click on each compact state below to search available locum tenens opportunities.

    Our recruiters can help you find the ideal assignment while you experience a new part of the country. Our experienced team will also help you through the licensing and credentialing process, arrange for free housing and other benefits, and provide support throughout your locum assignment.


    : As of March 15, 2019, all of these IMLC states currently issue medical licenses to qualified physicians who hold a Letter of Qualification (LOQ), and all but Minnesota are currently processing applications for expedited LOQs that allow physicians to work in other compact states.

    For more information on working in a physician compact state:

    ▪ COMPLETE the short interest form on this page;

    ▪ VISIT the IMLC Commission website;

    ▪ USE Staff Care’s interactive map on state medical licensing

  • The Physician Compact: Let Us Help You Join

    * Indicates required field