Doctor writes on medical blank standing near table with laptop computer
Locums News December 11, 2017

How the Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact Affects Advanced Practice Nurses

Multi-State RN Licenses Set To Change In January 2018 

Effective January 19, 2018, there will be a change in the current Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC), which allows RNs and LPNs/LVNs to practice in other compact states without needing to get an additional license.

 Although the compact does not relate specifically to advanced practice licenses, it still affects advanced practice registered nurses (APRNs) and any other practitioners who hold an RN license with multi-state privileges, including:

  • Nurse practitioners (NPs)
  • Certified registered nurse anesthetists (CRNA)
  • Certified nurse-midwives (CNMs)
  • Clinical nurse specialists (CNSs)

As of December 1, 2017, twenty-six (26) states have enacted the enhanced NLC (eNLC), including states new to the compact: Georgia, Florida, Wyoming, West Virginia, and Oklahoma. Several other states are just waiting for their lawmakers to enact the legislation to join.

Based on legislation that is pending, it appears that all of the current 25 NLC states, except Rhode Island, will join the eNLC before the January 19, 2018 implementation. 

STAFF CARE places physicians and advanced practitioners in locum tenens jobs across the U.S.

Which states are part of the eNLC?

The current list of eNLC states includes Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, and Wyoming.

The National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) expects that Colorado, New Mexico, and Wisconsin—which are part of the original NLC—will also join the new compact before the implementation date on January 19, 2018. 

Other states with pending eNLC legislation include Michigan, New Jersey, and Massachusetts.

What does the eNLC implementation mean for APRNs?

  • Advanced practice registered nurses (APRNs) with an RN compact license issued before July 20, 2017, from one of the eNLC states will still have multistate privileges in the other eNLC states as of Jan 20, 2018.
  • APRNs with an RN compact license from the remaining NLC states (that have not yet joined the eNLC) can only exercise their multi-state privileges within those states.
  • APRNs with an RN compact license issued after July 19, 2017, will be subject to additional requirements from their state licensing board in order to have multi-state privileges.
  • APRNs and physician assistants (PAs) who wish to enjoy their full scope of practice will still need to get their advanced practitioner licenses in other compact and non-compact states where they wish to work. (There is a separate APRN compact that has not yet been ratified by the required 10 states, so it is not in effect at this time.)


For more information:

  • Contact your state board(s) of nursing.
  • Contact your recruiter at Staff Care. We are prepared to help our advanced practice nurses make the transition from the current compact to the eNLC. We can also help with all licensing questions and needs, to ensure our locum tenens providers have the correct licenses to work their assignments.
  • Find more details about the eNLC on the NCSBN’s Nurse Licensure Compact site.



Recently Published

Contact Us!

We're Here to Help!

Contact Us

* Indicates Required Fields


By clicking "SUBMIT" I agree to receive emails, automated text messages and phone calls (including calls that contain prerecorded content) from and on behalf of {{site_name}}, its parent, AMN Healthcare, and affiliates. I understand these messages will be to the email or phone number provided, and will be about employment opportunities, positions in which I’ve been placed, and my employment with AMN companies. See privacy policy or cookie policy for more details.